New carriages

16.01.2024 start of a new chapter for the San Salvatore Funicular
The first of two carriages ordered from Garaventa by the San Salvatore Funicular has arrived on Tuesday 16th January 2024.
The journey started from Olten, crossed the Gotthard and arrived in Paradiso.
Thanks to the expertise of the funicular workers, the contractors and the Camillo Vismara company, the new wagon could be placed on the tracks on the Calprino viaduct.
The renovation work will continue until mid-March in order to be ready to reopen the new San Salvatore season before Easter.

Download press release 16.01.2024

30.01.2024 second carriage
As part of the continuation of the renovation work, the second new car of the San Salvatore Funicular arrived in Paradiso on Tuesday, 30th January 2024. It was placed on the Calprino viaduct. It will then be towed to Pazzallo where the electrical system will be connected and load tests will be carried out.
Always attentive to the provisions of the Federal Office of Transport and in line with the investments aimed at safety, on this occasion the pulling rope, 1810 m long, 33 mm in diameter and weighing 7624 kg, is also being replaced.
The old rope will still have a useful function. It was in fact donated to the humanitarian organisation headed by Toni ‘el Suizo’ Ruttimann from Engadin, an engineer who has been active in voluntary work for several years building bridges and footbridges in particularly remote and poor areas of countries in South America and South East Asia.

The renovation work will continue until mid-March in order to be ready to reopen the new San Salvatore season before Easter.

Download press release 30.01.2024

Nouvelles cabines

16.01.2024 Début d’un nouveau chapitre pour le Funiculaire du San Salvatore
La première des deux cabines commandées à Garaventa par le Funiculaire San Salvatore est arrivée le mardi 16 janvier 2024.
Le voyage est parti d’Olten, a traversé le Gotthard et est arrivé à Paradiso.
Grâce à l’expertise des ouvriers du funiculaire, des entrepreneurs et de l’entreprise Camillo Vismara, la nouvelle voiture a pu être placée sur les voies du viaduc de Calprino.
Les travaux de rénovation se poursuivront jusqu’à la mi-mars afin d’être prêts à rouvrir la nouvelle saison du San Salvatore avant Pâques.

Télécharger communiqué de presse 16.01.2024

30.01.2024 deuxième cabine
Dans le cadre de la poursuite des travaux de rénovation, la deuxième cabine neuve du Funiculaire San Salvatore est arrivée à Paradiso le mardi 30 janvier 2024. Elle a été posée sur le viaduc de Calprino. Elle sera ensuite remorquée jusqu’à Pazzallo où le système électrique sera raccordé et des tests de charge seront effectués.
Toujours attentif aux dispositions de l’Office Fédéral des Transports et dans le cadre des investissements visant la sécurité, à cette occasion, le câble de traction, d’une longueur de 1810 m, d’un diamètre de 33 mm et d’un poids de 7624 kg, est également remplacé.
L’ancien câble conservera une fonction utile. Il a en effet été donné à l’organisation humanitaire dirigée par Toni « el Suizo » Ruttimann d’Engadine, un ingénieur actif depuis plusieurs années dans le bénévolat en construisant des ponts et des passerelles dans des régions particulièrement reculées et pauvres de pays d’Amérique du Sud et d’Asie du Sud-Est.

Les travaux de rénovation se poursuivront jusqu’à la mi-mars afin d’être prêts à rouvrir la nouvelle saison du San Salvatore avant Pâques.

Télécharger communiqué de presse 30.01.2024