New carriages

16.01.2024 start of a new chapter for the San Salvatore Funicular
The first of two carriages ordered from Garaventa by the San Salvatore Funicular has arrived on Tuesday 16th January 2024.
The journey started from Olten, crossed the Gotthard and arrived in Paradiso.
Thanks to the expertise of the funicular workers, the contractors and the Camillo Vismara company, the new wagon could be placed on the tracks on the Calprino viaduct.
The renovation work will continue until mid-March in order to be ready to reopen the new San Salvatore season before Easter.

Download press release 16.01.2024

30.01.2024 second carriage
As part of the continuation of the renovation work, the second new car of the San Salvatore Funicular arrived in Paradiso on Tuesday, 30th January 2024. It was placed on the Calprino viaduct. It will then be towed to Pazzallo where the electrical system will be connected and load tests will be carried out.
Always attentive to the provisions of the Federal Office of Transport and in line with the investments aimed at safety, on this occasion the pulling rope, 1810 m long, 33 mm in diameter and weighing 7624 kg, is also being replaced.
The old rope will still have a useful function. It was in fact donated to the humanitarian organisation headed by Toni ‘el Suizo’ Ruttimann from Engadin, an engineer who has been active in voluntary work for several years building bridges and footbridges in particularly remote and poor areas of countries in South America and South East Asia.

The renovation work will continue until mid-March in order to be ready to reopen the new San Salvatore season before Easter.

Download press release 30.01.2024

Neue Wagons

16.01.2024 Beginn eines neuen Kapitels für die Standseilbahn San Salvatore
Der erste von zwei Wagons, die die Standseilbahn San Salvatore bei Garaventa bestellt hat, ist am Dienstag, 16. Januar 2024 eingetroffen. Die Reise begann in Olten, durchquerte den Gotthard und kam in Paradiso an.
Dank dem Fachwissen der Arbeiter der Standseilbahn, der Bauunternehmer und der Firma Camillo Vismara konnte der neue Wagen auf die Gleise des Calprino-Viadukts gestellt werden.

Download Pressemitteilung 16.01.2024

30.01.2024 Zweiter Wagon
Im Rahmen der Fortsetzung der Renovierungsarbeiten ist am Dienstag, den 30. Januar 2024, der zweite neue Wagon der Standseilbahn San Salvatore in Paradiso eingetroffen. Er wurde auf dem Calprino-Viadukt verlegt. Von dort wird er nach Pazzallo gezogen, wo die elektrische Anlage angeschlossen wird und Belastungstests durchgeführt werden.
Unter Beachtung der Vorschriften des Bundesamtes für Verkehr und im Rahmen der Investitionen in die Sicherheit wird bei dieser Gelegenheit auch das Drahtseil mit einer Länge von 1810 m, einem Durchmesser von 33 mm und einem Gewicht von 7624 kg ersetzt.
Das alte Seil wird noch eine nützliche Funktion haben. Es wurde nämlich der humanitären Organisation von Toni „el Suizo“ Ruttimann aus dem Engadin gespendet, einem Ingenieur, der seit mehreren Jahren ehrenamtlich Brücken und Stege in besonders abgelegenen und armen Gebieten von Ländern in Südamerika und Südostasien baut.

Die Renovierungsarbeiten werden bis Mitte März andauern, damit die neue San Salvatore-Saison noch vor Ostern wieder eröffnet werden kann.

Download Pressemitteilung 30.01.2024